Experimentation…

Taking into consideration of wanting to keep my theme of work based around ‘nature&natural‘ , I decided to try and use flowers and leaves as the main source of material throughout my work. From this I experimented with the colours and marks left behind when using the petals and the leaves, to create this I took materials such as cotton, canvas and silk to place flowers and leaves upon and then hammering them with a hammer and a homemade press and to crush and press the petals and leaves. From this I was able to discover the high intensity prints i got as a result! This also gave me the chance to figure out what flowers worked better then others and what produced the best colours and marks.   

material collage

Flowers & leaves used: 

Violas , pansies, marigolds, rose petals, acer leaves, salvia petals, and pansies leaves 

 

 

Leave a comment